Posted by: maddergenealogist | March 1, 2014

Rugby Saturdays

I’ve always thought that Saturday was not a day for working. It’s the weekend – you don’t have to do anything. A bit of shopping, a bit of sport, perhaps catch up with the papers. Today seems to be the first in several weeks when that is true – so I’ll spend it catching up with this blog!

Three weeks ago there was a meeting of the Rugby Archaeological Society (sorry no link yet to their website – I haven’t set it up yet). I had been asked, as leader of Rugby Local History Research Group (they do have a website ) to give a talk about the History of Rugby. It was a talk I had given before at a day school  at the Percival Guildhouse in Rugby, so I felt fairly relaxed about it. I knew that the venue, in Rugby Library, was not very large, so I tried not to advertise it too much – only Twitter, Facebook and an announcement at a meeting of Rugby Family History Group. The room soon filled up and people were queuing out the door.

View from near the back before the talk

View from near the back before the talk

I was then asked if I would do the talk twice. Foolishly I said yes and people were sent away to come back in an hour later. The talk seemed to be well received and after a five-minute break, I did it all again. By the end I was completely shattered. I returned home and spent the afternoon in front of the television watching Rugby.

Now I am not that interested in sport in general, but living in the town of Rugby and having two sons who had to play it at school, I learnt to enjoy the game. Standing on a muddy school field in driving sleet you are forced to take an interest, if only to take your mind off the discomfort! So, I usually follow the Six-Nations, which is on at the moment.

If you are watching any sport, it is natural to support one side or the other and in the Six-Nations I have a hierarchy of support. Obviously, I support England if they are playing and then whoever is playing against Wales (although there is a problem if they are playing France!). That Saturday was a very enjoyable afternoon. Wales was beaten 26-3 by Ireland and England beat Scotland 20-0 (at Murryfield!).

The next Saturday there was no Rugby and I traveled to Telford. I know, I lead such a glamorous life. I was attending a Guild of One-Name Studies Seminar. It was called The Next Generation and all the speakers were under the age of 40. I will not go into details of the seminar as it has already been done by Jo Tillin here. She gave  the first of the talks and the whole day gave an interesting outlook on how the younger generation conduct their one-name studies. The whole seminar can be seen viewed on YouTube here , so here are just a few pictures of the day.

Jo is introduced by Chairman Kirsty Gray, who also gave two of the talks

Jo is introduced by Chairman Kirsty Gray, who also gave two of the talks

Lunch time, in a separate building, so at least we got a bit of fresh air

Lunch time, in a separate building, so at least we got a bit of fresh air

The youngest member of the Guild on One-Name Studies. Amy tells us about her school project.

The youngest member of the Guild on One-Name Studies. Amy tells us about her school project.

The audience fill in their comments forms as Bob Cumberbatch sets up the live link to Canada for the final speaker.

The audience fill in their comments forms as Bob Cumberbatch sets up the live link to Canada for the final speaker.

Last week it was back to Rugby. First I spent a couple of hours in Hunts Bookshop. I had suggested holding a Local History Help desk (why do I have these bight ideas). This would encourage customers to Rugby’s only independent bookshop and raise the profile of the Local History Group.

View from the help desk in Hunts Bookshop - waiting for customers.

View from the help desk in Hunts Bookshop – waiting for customers.

We only had one question, which we were unable to answer at the time, but we found the information later. Now to find the person who asked the question! Perhaps we’ll be better prepared next time (probably 29th March). We chatted to several other customers to the shop, so at least a few more people know we exist.

Finally, home for more Rugby. Unfortunately Wales had won the night before, but there were a couple of exciting games and England won (just). Another successful Saturday.

And now another Saturday – and nothing planned. My husband is out, talking to rats (Sorry RATS) and there’s no Rugby until next week. I can do what I want.  The sun is shining and I should do some gardening (or update my gardening blog). I could do some family or local history, or update any of several websites. I could read a book or do some writing – I have homework – 350 words on something boring (think I’ll leave that until tomorrow). The choice is endless. I expect I will just read the newspaper. After all I have four weeks of accumulated Saturday papers to catch up with.

Responses

  1. Glad you enjoyed the seminar – thanks for the link to my blog. If you ever have any questions just let me know.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

